The numbered red circles 0 in the text reference the corresponding red circles on the images in that section so that it is easier to look up the described parts.
With settings you can customize how several features work. Settings is best suited for experienced users as the default settings are good for most situations. You can open the settings by clicking on the cog icon in the top right corner of Driver Fusion.
The general settings.
- Share anonymous data with Treexy to improve Driver Fusion's driver detection.
- About shows information about the Driver Fusion release that you are currently running, such as credits and version.
- Choose the interface language used by Driver Fusion. If you want to change the way dates are displayed in Driver Fusion you have to use the Windows regional settings.
- If Driver Fusion should automatically update to the latest version upon starting the application. If you disable this setting then you have to manually click on the update notification when you want to install the update. Automatic updates are only available for Driver Fusion Premium users.
- Include experimental preview versions of the upcoming Driver Fusion release in the updates. This settings is only recommended for expert users.
The advanced settings.
- Show a separate bar with hints that briefly describe the functionality of currently selected feature.
- Show a message asking you to confirm each critical event (such as the removal of a driver family). This should only be disabled by experienced users.
- If system restore points are automatically created before critical events. This should only be disabled by experienced users.
- If notifications from Windows asking you to proceed with the driver installation are automatically confirmed. You can still receive the occassional confirmation message but most drivers will perform a silent install with this enabled. This should only be disabled by experienced users.
- This is used by both health check and device control and changes the minimum driver signature used for downloading and installing drivers. As this is a minimal level the results will also include drivers from a higher signature level. For example, when you select authenticode any drivers that are signed with WHQL will also be included in the results. Setting this setting to none on Windows XP can greatly increase the amount of available drivers due to the limited amount of signed drivers available. Unless you are an experienced user, you should not disable this setting on Windows Vista and higher as only signed drivers can be installed by default.
Signatures are used to digitally sign software to confirm the author of the software. These signatures are based on the code of the program, which means that if the code is altered the signature will no longer match, thus ensuring that the code has not been altered or corrupted since it was signed. Driver Fusion distinguishes between multiple signature levels ranging from no signature at all to WHQL. No signature does not mean that the driver is unsafe but it does mean that no steps were taken to provide verifiable information about the origin of the driver.
Authenticode is a Microsoft code-signing technology which combines digital signatures with an infrastructure of trusted entities to ensure that the driver originates from the stated publisher. Windows Hardware Quality Labs (WHQL) applies an additional test framework to the software to verify that the driver package is compatible with Microsoft Windows. If the product passes these tests then it may apply for a WHQL release signature.
It is important to note that code signing does not offer any protection from faulty code. Signing just ensures that the code did not alter after signing and that it is from the stated publisher. The price of a valid signature is so low that anyone can buy them and sign their own drivers with. Therefor we test drivers on multiple systems before releasing them to the public. As the additional levels only add small degrees of extra certainty, because of the reasons discussed in this paragraph, we decided to default the minimum driver signature to signed instead of authenticode/WHQL.
- Change the Windows behavior when it is about to (re)install drivers for devices that do not have drivers installed. This is especially useful if you do not want Windows to reinstall the default driver again.
- Generate an HTML report of all the devices and their installed drivers. This report also includes a summary of the computer, which makes it easy to retrieve and share your system configuration.
- Generate a diagnostics report for Treexy. When you contact us you might be asked to send this report by email. The report contains useful information, such as the devices and their installed drivers, so that we can better find the root of your problem. The contents of this report are compressed so that they are smaller to send, but this makes them unreadable when you open them in a text editor.
The driver backup settings.
Under driver backup you can manage all your backup destination folders. You can choose between these backup destination when creating backups with device control or health check. New destination folders can be added by 1 clicking on add a destination. Click on a listed destination to see 2 the number of stored backups at that destination and to either 3 open the destination in Windows explorer or to 4 delete the destination from the list.
The driver family settings.
- Stop processes and services that are blocking entries from being deleted.
- Force the deletion of entries from your system that are otherwise not possible to delete. These entries are often protected, locked or in use by the operating system, other users, or programs. This functionality is only available for Driver Fusion Premium users.
- Allows the ability to select, and thus delete or backup, multiple driver families at once. This should only be enabled by experienced users.
- Automatically back up files, directories and registry entries during a delete in driver family.
- Automatically back up your desktop icon positions and resolution of each screen before deleting display driver families from your system. This functionality is only available for Driver Fusion Premium users. The created backup can be restored in the desktop section of Driver Fusion.
The health check settings.
Under health check you can manage the devices and drivers that you have excluded from the scan results in health check. By default the excluded devices are shown. Click on 1 excluded devices to switch to excluded available drivers. To delete an excluded device or available driver you can 2 click on an excluded available driver and 3 click the delete button. When you delete an excluded device or available driver it will be included again in the scan results of health check.
The account settings.
The account settings screen provides you with basic account managing functionality such as 1 changing your password, 2 changing your email address ,and 3 changing your account picture. In the case of your account picture you will be redirected to the Gravatar website. Gravatar is a free avatar service and Driver Fusion uses it for easy avatar management.
Under products all the licenses are listed that are active for your account. You can activate the product code by 4 clicking on activate a product and entering the product code that you received with your order. The 5 name of each license and its expiration date are shown in the list. When you purchase a new license you will get an email with the product code that you can use to activate that license for your account.
Go to the Driver Fusion order assistance page for a detailed and graphical guide about product activation.